GMy GLP-1 Guides
← Blog
Cost & Insurance7 min read

Wegovy Pill Price per Month: Self-Pay, Insurance, Clinics

By Alexandru Vieru · Updated · Independently researched & fact-checked

A small bowl filled with white tablets, a glass of water, and a leather wallet on a wooden table

Summarize this page with

Short answer: The Wegovy pill price per month, paying cash through NovoCare Pharmacy, is $149 for the 1.5 mg starting dose, $199 for 4 mg and $299 for 9 mg and the 25 mg maintenance dose. A month is one bottle of 30 tablets. With commercial insurance that covers it, the savings offer can bring the cost down to as little as $25. A clinic's care or membership fee is extra.

By Alexandru Vieru. Independently researched. Last reviewed October 18, 2026. Every price comes from the seller's own website, with the date we read it. Educational information only, not medical advice.

The Wegovy pill is semaglutide in tablet form, approved by the FDA for weight management and taken once a day. Because its price changes with the dose, the Wegovy pill price you pay in the first three months is different from what you pay once you reach maintenance. This guide sets out what Novo Nordisk charges, how insurance and the savings offer change it, what online clinics charge and how the pill compares on price with the alternatives.

Wegovy pill price per month by dose

Novo Nordisk sells the Wegovy pill to people paying cash through NovoCare Pharmacy. Its prices, read on NovoCare (novocare.com), are:

Wegovy pill doseSelf-pay price per monthWhat a month means
1.5 mg (starting dose)$1491 bottle of 30 tablets
4 mg$1991 bottle of 30 tablets
9 mg$2991 bottle of 30 tablets
25 mg (maintenance dose)$2991 bottle of 30 tablets

Two points stand out. The 9 mg and 25 mg strengths cost the same, so the price stops rising once you reach 9 mg. And the self-pay price is for the medication only. It does not include the prescription itself, which comes from your own doctor or an online clinic.

What Wegovy costs from Novo Nordisk

Wegovy pen (semaglutide injection)

Without insurance (self-pay; a month is 1 box of 4 pens):

0.25 mg, 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 1.7 mg, 2.4 mg$349/month
Wegovy HD 7.2 mg$399/month

New-patient offer: $199/month for 0.25 mg and 0.5 mg, through 31 December 2026.

  • Eligible patients with commercial insurance that covers it: as little as $25 with the savings card, which saves up to $100 a month. Government plans are excluded from the card.
  • Eligible Medicare patients: $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. Program eligibility and terms (novocare.com).

Read on novocare.com on 26 October 2026.

Wegovy pill (semaglutide tablets)

Without insurance (self-pay; a month is 1 bottle of 30 tablets):

1.5 mg$149/month
4 mg$199/month
9 mg, 25 mg$299/month
  • Eligible patients with commercial insurance that covers it: as little as $25 with the savings card, which saves up to $100 a month. Government plans are excluded from the card.

Read on novocare.com on 26 October 2026.

What the Wegovy pill costs in the first months

The Wegovy prescribing information, read October 18, 2026, starts the tablet at 1.5 mg a day for 30 days and then steps up every 30 days, through 4 mg and 9 mg, to the 25 mg maintenance dose. Your prescriber decides when to move up, and some people stay at a dose longer if side effects need time to settle. If each step comes after 30 days, the monthly medication bill looks like this:

Month on the label scheduleDoseSelf-pay that month
Month 11.5 mg$149
Month 24 mg$199
Month 39 mg$299
Month 4 onward25 mg$299

So the ongoing Wegovy pill price is the maintenance figure, not the starting one. When you budget for a year, use $299 a month for most of it.

Wegovy pill price with insurance

With commercial insurance that covers the Wegovy pill, Novo Nordisk's savings offer can bring the cost down to as little as $25, with savings of up to $100 a month. People with government insurance, such as Medicare or Medicaid, are excluded from the savings offer.

Coverage for weight-loss drugs varies widely between plans, and many plans need prior authorization. If your plan covers the pill, the savings offer is usually the cheapest route. If it covers weight-loss drugs but not this one, ask whether the Wegovy injection or another covered medicine is on the formulary. Our GLP-1 insurance guide walks through prior authorization and appeals, and the Medicare Bridge guide covers the separate Medicare program for the injections it includes.

Wegovy pill price at online clinics

Many online clinics prescribe the Wegovy pill. Six of those we review, Ro, Weight Watchers Med+, Mochi Health, Shed, Ivím Health and Hims & Hers, publish a medication-only price for the starting dose that matches NovoCare's self-pay price. Their care or membership fees are billed on top. The table below lists every clinic we review that names the Wegovy pill among its treatments, in the order of our ranking, with the clinic's own price and the date we read it.

Online clinics that prescribe the Wegovy pill

15 of the clinics we review list the Wegovy pill. Our partner clinics come first, in order of our score; the others are named below, each linked to our review. Where a clinic doesn’t publish a price for it, we say so.

Our partner clinics, in order of our score. Prices are each clinic's own Wegovy pill prices, read on its pages, with the plan length. We may earn a commission if you sign up through a partner button; it never changes a score or this order.

  • SSesame

    7.5/ 10
    Our score
    Wegovy pill, 1.5 mg and 4 mg (medication only): $149/mo, plan length not statedRead Nov 4, 2026

    Visit →
    Read reviewAffiliate link
  • Shed

    7.4/ 10
    Our score
    Wegovy® pill (medication only): $149/mo, plan length not statedRead Oct 15, 2026

    Visit →
    Read reviewAffiliate link
  • Maximus

    6.5/ 10
    Our score
    Wegovy tablets (brand): $249.99/mo, plan length not statedRead Oct 14, 2026

    Visit →
    Read reviewAffiliate link

Other clinics that list the Wegovy pill: Lavender Sky Health, AgelessRx, Ro (Body by Ro), Weight Watchers Med+, Mochi Health, Noom Med, Pomegranate Health, Calibrate, LifeMD, MEDVi, Ivím Health, Hims & Hers.

When you compare a clinic with going through NovoCare, add the two parts together: the medication price at your dose and the clinic's monthly fee. A clinic that quotes the same medication price as NovoCare can still cost more each month once its fee is included, and the price at the starting dose tells you little about month four. Each clinic's review, linked in its row, sets out its fee, its cancellation terms and what follow-up it includes. Our 12-month cost comparison shows how a year adds up where clinics publish enough to calculate it.

What the Wegovy pill price does not include

The self-pay figures above buy the tablets and nothing else. Before you settle on a monthly budget, account for the parts of treatment that sit outside the medication price.

  • The prescription. A clinician has to assess you and write the prescription. Your own doctor may bill a visit to your insurance; an online clinic usually charges a consultation or a monthly membership.
  • Follow-up. The dose steps up over the first three months, and each step is a decision for your prescriber. Ask whether follow-up messages or visits are included in a clinic's fee or billed separately.
  • Tests your clinician asks for. Some prescribers want blood work before or during treatment. Whether that is covered depends on your insurance and the clinic.
  • Time between doses. The tablet is taken every day, so a late refill means missed doses. Ask how refills are ordered and how long delivery takes.

None of these change the Wegovy pill price itself, but they change what a month of treatment costs you. Write each figure down with the date you were quoted it.

How the Wegovy pill price compares

OptionSelf-pay at the starting doseSelf-pay at maintenance
Wegovy pill$149 a month$299 a month
Wegovy injection$349 a month$349 a month at 2.4 mg, $399 for the 7.2 mg HD pen
Foundayo pill$149 a month$299 to $349 a month
Zepbound injection$299 a month$449 a month with a refill within 45 days

At maintenance, the Wegovy pill is $299 a month against $349 for the standard Wegovy injection. The price is only part of the decision: the pill must be taken every morning on an empty stomach with up to 4 ounces of water, then a 30-minute wait before food, drinks or other medicines. In its main trial, the 25 mg tablet produced 13.6% average weight loss over 64 weeks, against 14.9% over 68 weeks for the 2.4 mg injection in its own trial. Our semaglutide hub lists the clinics that prescribe each form.

Ways to keep the Wegovy pill price down

  1. Check insurance first. If your plan covers the pill, the savings offer can bring it down to as little as $25, far below any cash route.
  2. Compare the full monthly total. Add the clinic fee to the medication price at your maintenance dose, not your starting dose.
  3. Ask about refills and supply. A month is one bottle of 30 tablets. Confirm how refills are shipped so you do not miss doses.
  4. Watch for programs that bundle the pill. A clinic program that includes the medication can be simpler, but check whether the price rises once the dose goes up.
  5. Avoid unverified sellers. A semaglutide tablet sold far below these prices outside a licensed pharmacy is not the approved product. Our guide to avoiding semaglutide scams lists the warning signs.

Wegovy pill price FAQ

How much is the Wegovy pill per month without insurance? Through NovoCare Pharmacy: $149 for 1.5 mg, $199 for 4 mg, and $299 for 9 mg and 25 mg. A month is one bottle of 30 tablets.

Is the Wegovy pill cheaper than the injection? At every self-pay dose, yes: the pill tops out at $299 a month, while the standard Wegovy injection is $349 a month.

Does insurance cover the Wegovy pill? Some commercial plans do. With coverage, the savings offer can bring it to as little as $25. Government insurance is excluded from the savings offer.

Is the Wegovy pill the same price as the Ozempic pill? The Ozempic pill, which is approved for type 2 diabetes, has the same self-pay prices at 1.5, 4 and 9 mg. The Wegovy pill adds the 25 mg maintenance dose for weight management.

Related reading


Disclosure: Some clinics in the table above are affiliate partners; we may be paid a commission when you join through our link. Commission never changes a score, a rank or the order of a table. See our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.

Medical disclaimer: This page is for information only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before starting or changing any medication.

Sources: Novo Nordisk's Wegovy pill and Wegovy injection self-pay and savings prices on NovoCare, read October 12, 2026; the Ozempic pill price guide on NovoCare, read October 12, 2026; the Wegovy prescribing information on DailyMed, read October 18, 2026; Lilly's Foundayo and Zepbound self-pay prices, read October 12 and 16, 2026; clinic prices from each clinic's own pages, with the date on each row.

Seeing a Black Friday price? Our GLP-1 Black Friday deals page shows each partner's sale, who it applies to and what the plan costs once it ends.

Written to inform a purchase decision, not to replace a conversation with your own prescriber. A subset of the links above are paid referrals, see the badge on each one, and the score attached to any clinic named here doesn't know or care whether it's one of them.

Alexandru Vieru · Founder & Editor

Alexandru Vieru founded and edits MyGLP1 Guides, and personally re-checks every price, medication list and refund policy the site publishes before it goes live. That's what feeds the site's 4-criteria, 1-to-10 rubric. He holds no medical license, so any clinical fact on this site traces back to something citable (an FDA page, a manufacturer's own label, a peer-reviewed paper), never his own judgment.

Checking a clinic before you sign up?

Keep reading