GMy GLP-1 Guides
← Blog
Comparisons9 min read

Foundayo vs Wegovy: Two GLP-1 Pills and a Weekly Shot

By Alexandru Vieru · Updated · Independently researched & fact-checked

A wooden table with a chair, a steaming cup, a wooden bowl with pears, a glass of water, and a small pot

Summarize this page with

Short answer: Foundayo vs Wegovy compares Lilly's orforglipron pill with Novo Nordisk's semaglutide, which comes both as a daily pill and as a weekly injection. All three are FDA approved for weight management. Foundayo can be taken any time, with or without food. The Wegovy pill must be taken on an empty stomach with a 30-minute wait. In their trials, both Wegovy forms produced larger average weight loss (13.6% for the pill, 14.9% for the injection) than Foundayo (11.1%). Foundayo and the Wegovy pill start at the same self-pay price.

By Alexandru Vieru. Independently researched. Last reviewed October 18, 2026. Every price comes from the seller's own website, with the date we read it. Educational information only, not medical advice.

The search for Foundayo vs Wegovy usually comes from someone who wants a GLP-1 without a needle, or who is weighing a new pill against a better-known shot. This guide compares them on the things that decide it: how each is taken, what the trials showed, side effects, what the manufacturers charge, and which online clinics prescribe each one.

Foundayo vs Wegovy at a glance

FoundayoWegovy pillWegovy injection
Active ingredientOrforglipronSemaglutideSemaglutide
MakerEli LillyNovo NordiskNovo Nordisk
How oftenOnce a dayOnce a dayOnce a week
Food rulesAny time, with or without foodMorning, empty stomach, up to 4 oz of water, then wait 30 minutesNone
Maintenance doseUp to 17.2 mg a day25 mg a dayUsually 2.4 mg a week, up to 7.2 mg
Average loss in the main trial11.1% over 72 weeks (placebo 2.1%)13.6% over 64 weeks (placebo 2.4%)14.9% over 68 weeks (placebo 2.4%)
Self-pay at the starting dose$149 a month$149 a month$349 a month

The figures come from the Foundayo prescribing information and the Wegovy prescribing information on DailyMed, read October 18, 2026, and from Lilly's and Novo Nordisk's own price pages.

Foundayo vs Wegovy: what is the difference?

All three products work on the GLP-1 receptor, the target that reduces appetite and slows stomach emptying. The difference is the molecule. Wegovy is semaglutide, the same ingredient as Ozempic, approved for weight management both as a weekly injection and as a daily tablet. Foundayo is orforglipron, a different molecule that the FDA approved on April 1, 2026.

Wegovy's label also covers more than weight loss. The injection and the tablet are approved to reduce the risk of heart attack, stroke and cardiovascular death in adults with established heart disease and obesity or overweight. The injection is also approved for children aged 12 and older with obesity, and for adults with MASH, a form of fatty liver disease, under an accelerated approval. Foundayo's label covers weight management in adults.

Foundayo vs Wegovy: how each is taken

Foundayo is one tablet a day, swallowed whole, at any time and with or without food. The dose starts at 0.8 mg and steps up no faster than every 30 days, through 2.5 mg and 5.5 mg, to 9, 14.5 or 17.2 mg.

The Wegovy pill is one tablet a day, taken in the morning on an empty stomach with up to 4 ounces of plain water. You then wait at least 30 minutes before eating, drinking or taking other oral medicines. The dose starts at 1.5 mg a day for 30 days and steps up every 30 days through 4 mg and 9 mg to the 25 mg maintenance dose.

The Wegovy injection is given under the skin once a week on the same day, at any time and with or without food. The dose starts at 0.25 mg a week and rises every four weeks, usually to 2.4 mg a week. For adults who tolerate 2.4 mg for at least four weeks, the label allows up to 7.2 mg a week.

For many people, the food rule is the deciding difference between the two pills. Foundayo fits a schedule where breakfast, coffee or other morning medicines come first. The Wegovy pill suits someone who can reliably take it on waking and wait half an hour.

If a dose is missed, the rules differ too. A missed Wegovy tablet is skipped, and the next one is taken the following day. A missed Foundayo dose is taken as soon as possible without doubling up, and after seven or more missed doses in a row the dose restarts lower.

Foundayo vs Wegovy weight loss in the trials

Each drug was tested against placebo in its own trials, with different lengths and volunteers. Read the table as each drug's result against its own placebo group.

Main trial, adults without diabetesLengthAverage weight changePlacebo
Foundayo 5.5 mg72 weeks7.4% loss2.1% loss
Foundayo 9 mg72 weeks8.3% loss2.1% loss
Foundayo 17.2 mg72 weeks11.1% loss2.1% loss
Wegovy 25 mg tablet64 weeks13.6% loss2.4% loss
Wegovy 2.4 mg injection68 weeks14.9% loss2.4% loss

The share of people who lost at least 10% of their weight tells the same story: 54.5% on the highest Foundayo dose, 59.8% on the Wegovy tablet and 66.1% on the Wegovy injection. The Wegovy trials were shorter than Foundayo's, so a longer follow-up does not explain the gap.

None of these trials compared Foundayo with Wegovy directly. What they show is that all three produce weight loss well beyond placebo, with semaglutide's averages somewhat higher. Our semaglutide hub covers how semaglutide compares with tirzepatide.

Foundayo vs Wegovy side effects

Both medicines cause mostly stomach and bowel side effects, most often while the dose is being raised.

Foundayo: nausea, constipation, diarrhea, vomiting, indigestion, abdominal pain, headache, bloating, fatigue, belching, reflux, gas and hair loss are the common side effects on its label. In the trials, 6%, 9% and 10% of people on 5.5, 9 and 17.2 mg stopped because of side effects, against 3% on placebo.

Wegovy: the label lists nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, abnormal skin sensations, headache, fatigue, indigestion, dizziness, bloating, belching, low blood sugar in people with type 2 diabetes, gas, stomach flu, reflux and hair loss. With the 2.4 mg injection, nausea affected 44% of people against 16% on placebo, and 6.8% stopped because of side effects, against 3.2% on placebo.

Both labels carry the boxed warning about thyroid C-cell tumors seen in rodents, and both warn of pancreatitis, gallbladder disease, kidney injury from dehydration, low blood sugar and inhaling stomach contents under anesthesia. Wegovy's label also lists a faster heart rate and diabetic eye complications in type 2 diabetes. A clinician should review your full history before either one.

Foundayo vs Wegovy cost

Both manufacturers sell directly to people paying cash. The units differ: Lilly counts a Foundayo month as 30 days, while Novo Nordisk prices the Wegovy pill per bottle of 30 tablets and the Wegovy injection per box of four weekly pens.

What Foundayo costs from Eli Lilly

Foundayo (orforglipron tablets)

Without insurance (self-pay; a month is 30 days):

0.8 mg (starting dose)$149/month
2.5 mg, temporarily through December 31, 2026 (regular price $199)$149/month
5.5 mg, temporarily through December 31, 2026 (regular price $299)$199/month
9 mg$299/month
14.5 mg, 17.2 mg, refilled within 45 days (purchase offer)$299/month
14.5 mg, 17.2 mg, regular price$349/month
  • Eligible patients with commercial insurance that covers it: as little as $25 with the savings card, which saves up to $100 a month (per 1-, 2- or 3-month fill with commercial insurance that covers Foundayo; savings up to $100 per month and $1,000 per calendar year). Government plans are excluded from the card.
  • Eligible Medicare patients: $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (Foundayo for weight management). Program eligibility and terms (lilly.com).
  • List price: $649 per 30-day supply. Your pharmacy's cash quote can differ. Manufacturer list-price source (pricinginfo.lilly.com).

Read on foundayo.lilly.com, pricinginfo.lilly.com on 26 October 2026.

What Wegovy costs from Novo Nordisk

Wegovy pen (semaglutide injection)

Without insurance (self-pay; a month is 1 box of 4 pens):

0.25 mg, 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 1.7 mg, 2.4 mg$349/month
Wegovy HD 7.2 mg$399/month

New-patient offer: $199/month for 0.25 mg and 0.5 mg, through 31 December 2026.

  • Eligible patients with commercial insurance that covers it: as little as $25 with the savings card, which saves up to $100 a month. Government plans are excluded from the card.
  • Eligible Medicare patients: $50 a month through the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge. Program eligibility and terms (novocare.com).

Read on novocare.com on 26 October 2026.

Wegovy pill (semaglutide tablets)

Without insurance (self-pay; a month is 1 bottle of 30 tablets):

1.5 mg$149/month
4 mg$199/month
9 mg, 25 mg$299/month
  • Eligible patients with commercial insurance that covers it: as little as $25 with the savings card, which saves up to $100 a month. Government plans are excluded from the card.

Read on novocare.com on 26 October 2026.

At the starting dose, Foundayo and the Wegovy pill are the same price: $149 a month for Foundayo 0.8 mg and $149 for the Wegovy pill at 1.5 mg. At maintenance, the 25 mg Wegovy pill is $299 a month, while Foundayo's two top strengths are $299 with a refill inside 45 days or $349 without. The Wegovy injection is $349 a month at every standard strength.

Foundayo's lower prices for its 2.5 mg and 5.5 mg strengths are temporary, through December 31, 2026. With commercial insurance that covers them, the savings cards can bring either brand down to as little as $25. On Medicare, eligible beneficiaries can get Foundayo or the Wegovy injection through the GLP-1 Bridge for $50 a month. Our Medicare Bridge guide explains who qualifies.

Foundayo vs Wegovy: which clinics prescribe each?

Your own doctor can prescribe either one. If you prefer an online clinic, the tables below list the clinics we review that prescribe each brand, in the order of our ranking, with the clinic's own price where it publishes one. A clinic's medication price and its care or membership fee are often billed separately, so read the review before signing up.

Online clinics that prescribe Foundayo

11 of the clinics we review list Foundayo. Our partner clinics come first, in order of our score; the others are named below, each linked to our review. Where a clinic doesn’t publish a price for it, we say so.

Our partner clinics, in order of our score. Prices are each clinic's own Foundayo prices, read on its pages, with the plan length. We may earn a commission if you sign up through a partner button; it never changes a score or this order.

  • SSesame

    7.5/ 10
    Our score
    Foundayo, starting dose (medication only): $149/mo, plan length not statedRead Nov 4, 2026

    Visit →
    Read reviewAffiliate link
  • Maximus

    6.5/ 10
    Our score
    Foundayo tablets (brand): $199.99/mo, plan length not statedRead Oct 14, 2026

    Visit →
    Read reviewAffiliate link

Other clinics that list Foundayo: Lavender Sky Health, Ro (Body by Ro), Weight Watchers Med+, Mochi Health, Pomegranate Health, Calibrate, LifeMD, Ivím Health, Hims & Hers.

Online clinics that prescribe Wegovy

17 of the clinics we review list Wegovy. Our partner clinics come first, in order of our score; the others are named below, each linked to our review. Where a clinic doesn’t publish a price for it, we say so.

Several clinics prescribe both brands. Ro, Weight Watchers Med+ and LifeMD, for example, list Foundayo and the Wegovy pill among their treatments, so you can discuss both with the same clinician. Our Wegovy online guide covers the semaglutide clinics in more detail.

How to choose in Foundayo vs Wegovy

  1. Can you take a pill on an empty stomach every morning? If not, Foundayo's food rules are easier to live with. If you can, the Wegovy pill's trial result was higher.
  2. Would a weekly injection be acceptable? The Wegovy injection had the largest average result of the three and the simplest schedule, once a week.
  3. Do you have heart disease? Wegovy is approved to reduce cardiovascular risk in adults with established heart disease and obesity or overweight. That is a reason to raise it with your clinician.
  4. What will you pay at your maintenance dose? Starting prices are similar, so compare the price at the dose you are likely to stay on.
  5. What does your insurance cover? A plan that covers one brand and not the other usually settles the question.

Foundayo vs Wegovy FAQ

Is Foundayo better than the Wegovy pill? On average weight loss in their trials, no: 11.1% for Foundayo's highest dose over 72 weeks against 13.6% for the Wegovy pill over 64 weeks. Foundayo's advantage is that it does not need an empty stomach.

Do Foundayo and the Wegovy pill cost the same? At the starting dose, yes. At maintenance, the 25 mg Wegovy pill is $299 a month, and Foundayo's top strengths are $299 or $349 depending on the refill timing.

Is Foundayo semaglutide? No. Foundayo is orforglipron, made by Eli Lilly. Wegovy and Ozempic are semaglutide, made by Novo Nordisk.

Can I switch from Wegovy to Foundayo? That is a decision for your prescriber, who will set the starting dose from Foundayo's label rather than converting your Wegovy dose.

Related reading


Disclosure: Some clinics in the tables above are affiliate partners; we may be paid a commission when you join through our link. Commission never changes a score, a rank or the order of a table. See our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.

Medical disclaimer: This page is for information only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before starting or changing any medication.

Sources: the Foundayo and Wegovy prescribing information on DailyMed, read October 18, 2026; the FDA's Foundayo approval announcement, April 1, 2026; Lilly's Foundayo prices, read October 16, 2026; Novo Nordisk's Wegovy self-pay, savings and Medicare prices, read October 12, 2026; clinic prices from each clinic's own pages, with the date on each row.

Written to inform a purchase decision, not to replace a conversation with your own prescriber. A subset of the links above are paid referrals, see the badge on each one, and the score attached to any clinic named here doesn't know or care whether it's one of them.

Alexandru Vieru · Founder & Editor

Alexandru Vieru founded and edits MyGLP1 Guides, and personally re-checks every price, medication list and refund policy the site publishes before it goes live. That's what feeds the site's 4-criteria, 1-to-10 rubric. He holds no medical license, so any clinical fact on this site traces back to something citable (an FDA page, a manufacturer's own label, a peer-reviewed paper), never his own judgment.

Checking a clinic before you sign up?

Keep reading